

Hydro Place. 500 Columbus Drive. P.O. Box 12400. St. John's. NL Canada A1B 4K7 t. 709.737.1400 f. 709.737.1800 www.nlh.nl.ca

August 24, 2020

Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities **Prince Charles Building** 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040 St. John's, NL A1A 5B2

Attention: Ms. Cheryl Blundon

Director of Corporate Services & Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Blundon:

Re: Application for Approval of the Replacement of the Protective Equipment Located in the **Wabush Terminal Station** 

Please find enclosed Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro's ("Hydro") reply with regard to the abovementioned application.

# **Application Background**

On August 10, 2020, Hydro filed an Application with the Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities ("Board") pursuant to subsection 41(3) of the Public Utilities Act ("Act") requesting approval of replacement of the line protection relays and associated equipment and cabling located in the Wabush Terminal Station for transmission lines L34 and L35 and pursuant to section 41(5) of the Act, for approval of a contribution by Tacora of an amount equal to the final capital cost of the program.

## **Hydro's Response**

Hydro notes that there were no comments forthcoming from any of the parties. Therefore, Hydro respectfully requests that the Board approve the application as submitted.

Should you have any questions, please contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

**NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR HYDRO** 

Shirley A. Walsh

Senior Legal Counsel - Regulatory SAW/sk

**Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities** ecc:

> Ms. Jacqui Glynn **PUB Official Email**

**Newfoundland Power** Mr. Gerard M. Haves Ms. Kelly C. Hopkins Regulatory Email

## **Consumer Advocate**

Mr. Dennis M. Browne, Q.C., Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Mr. Stephen F. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Ms. Sarah G. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Ms. Bernice Bailey, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis

#### **Industrial Customer Group**

Mr. Paul L. Coxworthy, Stewart McKelvey Mr. Denis J. Fleming, Cox & Palmer Mr. Dean A. Porter, Poole Althouse

#### Iron Ore Company of Canada

Mr. Gregory A.C. Moores, Stewart McKelvey

### **Labrador Interconnected Group**

Mr. Senwung Luk, Olthuis Kleer Townshend LLP Ms. Julia Brown, Olthuis Kleer Townshend LLP

#### Praxair Canada Inc.

Sheryl E. Nisenbaum

## **Teck Resources Limited**

Shawn Kinsella